Technicolor DWA0120 DLNA server

Hello!

I’m new to the flock, I went live on Friday.

Everything has gone very smoothly and I am very happy. The only thing I need help with is not urgent and just a nice-to-have if I can get it working.

I am very impressed by the DWA0120 router provided by Cuckoo. It’s the first ISP-issue router I’ve had that has decent file sharing/media sharing capabilities.

I have a spare USB hard drive knocking around so I plugged it in to the USB port on the router and I was impressed to see it automatically create the Samba shares and I am able to connect to that from any computer in the house and copy files to/from it.

My TV wanted to get in on the action too and it started advertising a DLNA server I could connect to and pull videos, photos or music from. I have some experience with DLNA servers but unfortunately it doesn’t seem to work as I was expecting.

You can see from the manual here that the DLNA server is supposed to be able to serve media found on the USB connected hard drive to DLNA compatible clients like my LG WebOS TV.

From page 62 of the manual:

The DLNA server lists all audio, video and picture files located on the connected USB storage device.

I have formatted the USB storage device as a single NTFS partition and uploaded a sample MP4 video to it (30MB).

But whenever I go to Content Share > Technicolor DLNA > Photo & Video > Movies > All Movies I’m met with a screen that says:

No photo, video files or folders exist in storage device.

I did wonder whether it might be related to the TV itself, but I have also used other DLNA clients such as the one built in to VLC Player and, again, although it finds the DLNA server advertised by the router, it cannot see any media that has been added.

I have asked Cuckoo support and they are unsure why it wouldn’t work (but are trying to find the answer) . In the meantime, has anyone else used their Cuckoo Technicolor DWA0120 router as a DLNA server successfully?

Many thanks!